The growing importance of fast payment systems

Virtual roundtableDigital Monetary Institute
Tue 16 Jul 202414:00 - 15:00

Global adoption of fast payment systems is rising at a rapid pace. The interlinking of FPS could present one of the most promising solutions for enhancing cross-border payments.

Vatsala Shreeti, economist within the innovation and digital economy team at the Bank for International Settlements, joins OMFIF to explore the progress of governance and oversight frameworks for interlinking arrangements, design features of FPS that may foster adoption and why for some jurisdictions, FPS has become the go-to approach for payments modernisation. Key findings from the BIS ‘Fast payments: design and adoption’ quarterly review will also be discussed.

Speakers

Vatsala Shreeti

Economist, Innovation and Digital Economy

Bank for International Settlements

Vatsala Shreeti

Economist, Innovation and Digital Economy

Bank for International Settlements

Vatsala Shreeti is an economist in the innovation and digital economy division of research at the Bank for International Settlements. Her recent work focuses on technology adoption in emerging markets, design and adoption of fast payments, the role of big tech in finance and the role of AI in the financial sector. She is also a research affiliate at CESifo and at the Financial Inclusion through Interoperability Initiative.

Timings

14:00 – 15:00 (London)

21:00 – 22:00 (Singapore)

09:00 – 10:00 (New York)

Register

Event Registration (Salesforce)

Join Today

Connect with our membership team

Scroll to Top