Virtual panel   London   Europe
  Wed 19 Aug 2020 13:30 - 14:45

Following technology breakthroughs by private cryptocurrencies, central banks are considering the use of distributed ledger technology and blockchain to develop their own digital currency. However, there remains much debate over the ideal technological infrastructure to operate CBDCs. Blockchain technology offers the benefits of operational resilience, transparency and tokenisation, among others. The extent of scalability, the balance between privacy and decentralisation, and interoperability opportunities warrant further exploration.

This discussion addresses how blockchain could benefit CBDC. It explores DLT design choices, the use of smart contracts or ‘programmable money’ to enable interoperability across blockchain networks within and across borders, as well as how DLT can interact with existing technologies or vendors.

Speakers:

Timings:
13:30 – 14:45  London
08:30 – 09:45 New York
20:30 – 21:45 Singapore

This virtual discussion is part of the OMFIF Digital Monetary Institute. OMFIF, the global central banking think tank, proudly announces the launch of the OMFIF Digital Monetary Institute on 5 May. The OMFIF Digital Monetary Institute creates a high-level college which convenes key policy-makers, technologists, financiers and regulators to explore the challenges, opportunities and implications of digital finance in the 2020s. See more information on OMFIF’s DMI here.

Please contact julia.demidova@omfif.org directly for membership details or register your interest below and we’ll be in touch.

 

This meeting will be conducted under the OMFIF Rules.

 


Request to attend:

Event Registration (Salesforce)
reCAPTCHA